About AOJ and the NCEW Foundation

AOJ Logo

3899 N. Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
717 703-3015
717 703-3014 fax
aoj@pa-news.org

Join Today

Association of Opinion Journalists is a non-profit professional organization representing opinion writers and editors at newspapers and radio and television stations.

Membership is open to editorial writers at newspapers of general circulation and at radio and television stations, to teachers of journalism in schools of journalism and in journalism in-service training institutions, to students of journalism, and to others who devote a substantial part of their time to preparing editorial copy, columns, or broadcast commentary, or to the determination of editorial policy.

AOJ publishes a quarterly online journal, The Masthead. The group holds an annual convention in a different section of the country each fall consisting of critique sessions of members’ pages or broadcast editorials, professional seminars, and speakers and panel discussions on a theme topic. It sponsors conferences, seminars, and foreign tours throughout the year.

Organized in 1947 as National Conference of Editorial Writers, AOJ has members from around the world.

Miriam Pepper
President
VP/Editorial Page
The Kansas City Star
Kansas City MO 64108
mpepper@kcstar.com
(816) 234-4421

Kate Riley
Vice President
Editorial Page Editor
The Seattle Times
Seattle WA 98111
kriley@seattletimes.com
(206) 464-2260

Carolyn Lumsden
Secretary/Treasurer
Editorial Page Editor
The Harford Courant
Hartford CT 06115
clumsden@courant.com
(860) 241-3698

Association of Opinion Journalists Foundation was created in 1981 to “conduct, sponsor, and support educational programs and projects in the field of journalism.”

Projects sponsored by the Foundation include:

  • Minority Writers Seminar, held each spring to attract experienced minority journalists to opinion writing.
  • Barry Bingham Sr. Fellowship, presented annually to salute a journalism educator who gives special effort to recruiting minority students and preparing them for successful careers.
  • Scholarships enabling college students to attend AOJ's annual convention.
  • Educational seminars and professional meetings.
  • Funding for research studies.
  • Two volumes of Editorial Excellence previously published, with plans for a third.
  • Publication (with Scripps Howard Foundation) of Beyond Argument: A Handbook for Editorial Writers in April 2001 and reprinted in 2010.

David Holwerk
President

Communications Director
The Kettering Foundation
200 Commons Road
Dayton, Ohio, 45459
dholwerk@kettering.org
Work: (937)439-9818
Fax: (937)428-5353
(Term ends December 2014)

Lois Kazakoff
Vice President

Deputy Editorial Page Editor
The San Francisco Chronicle
901 Mission St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
lkazakoff@sfchronicle.com
Work: (415) 777-6054
Fax: (415) 543-7708
(Term ends December 2014)

Jonathan Gurwitz
Secretary
Columnist
The San Antonio Express-News
P.O. Box 2171
San Antonio, TX 78297
JGurwitz@express-news.net
Work: (210) 250-3489
Fax: (210) 250-3465
(Term ends December 2015)

Chuck Stokes
Treasurer
Editorial/Public Affairs Director
WXYZ-TV Detroit
2077 West 10 Mile Road
Southfield, MI 48037
cstokes@wxyz.com
Work: (248) 827-9350
Fax: (248) 827-4972
(Term ends December 2015)

Trustees

Marjorie Arons-Barron
WCVB-TV Ret.
Barron Assoc. Worldwide, Inc.
57 Edgefield Road, Waban Station
Boston,MA 02468-2118
aronsbarron@barronAW.com
Work: (617) 423-7770
Fax: (617) 969-6640 
(Term ends December 2013)

Judy Clabes*
Editor and Publisher
KyForward.com
370 S. Broadway
Lexington, KY 40508
judy@judithclabes.com
Cell: (513) 324-4178
(Term ends December 2015)

Froma Harrop
Columnist
The Providence Journal/Creators Syndicate
75 Fountain St.
Providence, RI 02902
fharrop@mac.com
Work: (401) 277-7438
Fax: (401) 277-7439
(Term ends December 2013)

Neil Heinen
WISC-TV
7025 Raymond Street
Madison,WI 53719
nheinen@wisctv.com
Work: (608) 277-5133
Fax: (608) 271-0800 
(Term ends December 2013)

Gene Policinski*
Newseum Institute
1207 18th Avenue South
Nashville, Tennessee 37205
gpolicinski@freedomforum.org
Work: (615) 727-1303
Fax: (615) 727-1329
(Term ends December 2014)

Sue Ryon
sue.ryon@me.com
(Term ends December 2014)

Bonnie Calhoun Williams
Editorial Page Editor
Anderson Independent Mail
P.O. Box 2507
Anderson, S.C. 29622
williamsbc@independentmail.com
Work: (864) 260-1344
Fax: (864) 260-1276
(Term ends December 2013)

Bob Davis
AOJ President

Executive Editor
The Anniston Star
P.O. Box 189
Anniston, AL 36202
bdavis@annistonstar.com
Work: (256) 235-3540
Fax: (256) 241-1991 

Kate Riley
AOJ Secretary/Treasurer

Editorial Page Editor
The Seattle Times
P.O. Box 70
Seattle, WA 98111
kriley@seattletimes.com
Work: (206) 464-2260
Fax: (206) 382-6760