About AOJ and the NCEW Foundation

AOJ Logo

3899 N. Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
717 703-3015
717 703-3014 fax
aoj@pa-news.org

Join Today

Association of Opinion Journalists is a non-profit professional organization representing opinion writers and editors at newspapers and radio and television stations.

Membership is open to editorial writers at newspapers of general circulation and at radio and television stations, to teachers of journalism in schools of journalism and in journalism in-service training institutions, to students of journalism, and to others who devote a substantial part of their time to preparing editorial copy, columns, or broadcast commentary, or to the determination of editorial policy.

AOJ publishes a quarterly online journal, The Masthead. The group holds an annual convention in a different section of the country each fall consisting of critique sessions of members’ pages or broadcast editorials, professional seminars, and speakers and panel discussions on a theme topic. It sponsors conferences, seminars, and foreign tours throughout the year.

Organized in 1947 as National Conference of Editorial Writers, AOJ has members from around the world.

AOJ OFFICERS
Miriam Pepper
President
VP/Editorial Page
The Kansas City Star
Kansas City, MO 64108
mpepper@kcstar.com
Phone: (816) 234-4421

Kate Riley
Vice President
Editorial Page Editor
The Seattle Times
Seattle, WA 98111
kriley@seattletimes.com
Phone: (206) 464-2260

Carolyn Lumsden
Secretary/Treasurer
Editorial Page Editor
The Harford Courant
Hartford, CT 06115
clumsden@courant.com
Phone: (860) 241-3698

Bob Davis
Immediate Past President
2014 Convention Chair
Associate Publisher/Editor
The Anniston Star
Anniston, AL 36202
bdavis@annistonstar.com
Phone: (256) 235-3540

Association of Opinion Journalists Foundation was created in 1981 to “conduct, sponsor, and support educational programs and projects in the field of journalism.”

Projects sponsored by the Foundation include:

  • Minority Writers Seminar, held each spring to attract experienced minority journalists to opinion writing.
  • Barry Bingham Sr. Fellowship, presented annually to salute a journalism educator who gives special effort to recruiting minority students and preparing them for successful careers.
  • Scholarships enabling college students to attend AOJ's annual convention.
  • Educational seminars and professional meetings.
  • Funding for research studies.
  • Two volumes of Editorial Excellence previously published, with plans for a third.
  • Publication (with Scripps Howard Foundation) of Beyond Argument: A Handbook for Editorial Writers in April 2001 and reprinted in 2010.

AOJ FOUNDATION OFFICERS
Lois Kazakoff
President
Deputy Editorial Page Editor
The San Francisco Chronicle
San Francisco, CA 94103
lkazakoff@sfchronicle.com
Phone: (415) 777-6054
(Term ends December 2014)

Chuck Stokes
Treasurer
Editorial/Public Affairs Director
WXYZ-TV Detroit
Southfield, MI 48037
cstokes@wxyz.com
Phone: (248) 827-9350
(Term ends December 2015)

David Haynes
Secretary
Deputy Editorial Page Editor
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Whitefish Bay, WI
dhaynes@jrn.com
Phone: 414-224-2770
(Term ends December, 2016)

FOUNDATION TRUSTEES
Jay Bender*
University of South Carolina
Coumbia, SC
jbender@sc.edu
Phone: (803) 777-3320
(Term ends December, 2016)

Herb Berkowitz*
President, PRoactive Solutions Public Relations,
Wilmington, NC
hberkowitzrpr@gmail.com
(Term ends December, 2016)

Neil Heinen
WISC-TV
Madison,WI 53719
nheinen@wisctv.com
Phone: (608) 277-5133
(Term ends December 2014)

David Holwerk
Communications Director
The Kettering Foundation
Dayton, Ohio, 45459
dholwerk@kettering.org
Phone: (937)439-9818
(Term ends December 2014)

Gene Policinski*
Chief Operating Officer
Newseum Institute
555 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20001
202-292-6290
gpolicinski@newseum.org
(Term ends December 2014)

Sue Ryon
Shorewood, WI
sryon@wi.rr.com
Work: (414)-758-0605
(Term ends December 2014)

Bonnie Calhoun Williams
Retired Editorial Page Editor
Anderson Independent Mail
Anderson, S.C. 29622
303 Hartwell Drive, Seneca SC 29672
Email: bwanddw@gmail.com
(Term extended from 2013 to December 2014)

Paula Lynn Ellis*
Paula Ellis and Associates LLC
Charleston, SC
paulalynnellis@gmail.com